Jonathan Brostoff wins Aug. 12 primary for Assembly’s 19th District

Jonathan Brostoff, one of four Democratic candidates vying to replace State Rep. Jon Richards, won the Aug. 12 primary and is likely to become our new Assembly representative in Madison.

Jonathan Brostoff

Jonathan Brostoff

Brostoff is expected to be easily elected in the Nov. 4 general election as the only opponent on the ballot will be Joe Klein of the independent Pirate Party of Wisconsin.

Richards, who has served in the Assembly since 1998, did not seek re-election ran so he could run for state attorney general. Jefferson County D.A. Susan Happ defeated Richards and another candidate in that primary.

Brostoff, who spoke at an HWTN earlier this year, defeated attorney Dan Adams, Milwaukee County Board Chairwoman Marina Dimitrijevic and attorney Sara Geenen. He is District Director for Senate Democratic Leader Chris Larson. Previously, he worked as a legislative aide to Milwaukee County Supervisor Jason Haas.



Candidate Forum for Assembly’s 19th District Set For June 5

ad19Historic Water Tower Neighborhood and five other East Side community groups will hold a community forum for candidates for the Assembly’s 19th District from 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. Thursday June 5, 2014, at St. Mark’s Episcopal Church, 2618 N. Hackett Ave.

The community is invited to hear and question the candidates. The four announced candidates are:

The candidates will face off in a primary election Aug. 12. Since no Republican has announced a candidacy, the primary winner likely will be the only candidate on the Nov. 4 general election ballot. Incumbent Rep. Jon Richards, who has held the seat since 1998, is running for state attorney general and will not be seeking re-election to the Assembly.

Urban Milwaukee editor Bruce Murphy will moderate the forum. Sponsoring the forum are Cambridge Woods Neighborhood Association, Eastside Milwaukee Community Council, Greenwich Village Neighborhood Association, Historic Water Tower Neighborhood, Mariners Neighborhood Association and Murray Hill Neighborhood Association.



New Officers, Trustee Elected for 2014

Two new officers and one new trustee have been unanimously elected to serve on the Historic Water Tower Neighborhood board in 2014.

VP-Special Events Lise Sadagopan displays cupcakes decorated with North Point Water Towers. Members enjoyed the cupcakes and other treats at the meeting to celebrate HWTN's 40th anniversary.

VP-Special Events Lise Sadagopan displays cupcakes decorated with North Point Water Towers. Members enjoyed the cupcakes and other treats at the meeting to celebrate HWTN’s 40th anniversary.

At our group’s Nov. 6, 2013, annual meeting, Trustee Donna Neal was elected as 2014 president elect, and she’ll serve as president in 2015. Sandra McSweeney, the current president-elect, will become president for 2014. Trustee Adrian Zilvetti was elected VP-Special Events for next year, and member Colin Scanes was elected as a new Area 3 trustee.

Re-elected for 2014 were current VP-Communications Jeff Bentoff, Secretary Dawn McCarthy, Treasurer Donna Neal and Trustee Sally Peltz. We currently have an open VP-membership position.

At the annual meeting, trustees thanked three outgoing officers for their years of service — President Lloyd Dickinson, VP-Special Events Lise Sadagopan and VP-Membership Thea Kovac. Lloyd served as president for 2012 and 2013. Lise and Thea have served for multiple years in their current positions but did not seek re-election for 2014. In 2014, Lloyd will serve as immediate past president, and Lise and Thea will remain as trustees.

Members also celebrated HWTN’s 40th anniversary with treats and champagne. VP-Communications Jeff Bentoff gave a presentation on our group’s history, and Ald. Nik Kovac presented the board and members with a proclamation honoring the group for its anniversary and contributions to the neighborhood. In another proclamation, Mayor Barrett had declared the day “Historic Water Tower Neighborhood Day.” More info on our group’s history is available at and

Primary Election For Assembly’s 19th District, County Sheriff, State Attorney General on Tuesday Aug. 12


Primaries for the HWTN-area seat in the Wisconsin Assembly, Milwaukee County Sheriff and Wisconsin Attorney General take place Tuesday Aug. 12.

Also on the ballot are primaries for Wisconsin governor and U.S. Congress representative.

In the case of the Democratic primaries for Assembly and sheriff seats, the Aug. 12  winners will be the only major-party candidates on the Nov. 4 general election ballot, as no Republicans have filed to run.

In the Assembly race, incumbent Rep. Jon Richards, who has held the seat since 1998, is running for state attorney general and is not be seeking re-election. The Assembly candidates are:

For sheriff, incumbent David A. Clarke Jr. faces Milwaukee Police Department Lieutenant Chris Moews.

The governor’s primary features a matchup between former Wisconsin Secretary of Commerce Mary Burke and State Rep. Brett Hulsey. The winner will face Gov. Scott Walker on Nov. 4.

For our area congressional seat, incumbent Cong. Gwen Moore faces former State Sen. Gary George for the Democratic nomination. On the Republican side, Dan Sebring, a car shop owner, faces David King, a pastor.

And in the attorney general Democratic primary, the race is between Jefferson County D.A. Susan V. Happ, Dane County D.A. Ismael Ozanne and State Rep. Jon Richards. The winner faces Republican candidate Waukesha County D.A. Brad Schimel in November.

Click here for info on voter registration and locating your polling place, and click the candidate names above where they’re hyperlinked or search the web to see their campaign websites and learn more. Note that in Wisconsin, voters can only select candidates of one party on a primary ballot.

Whoever you favor, be sure to vote on Aug. 12!