Check out feature and photos on gorgeous HWTN mansion

The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel’s “At Home With…” column recently featured another stunning HWTN-area home. This home is owned by HWTN members Andrew and Laura Brusky.

“More than a century after the home was built, the Bruskys find that it suits them perfectly. It will enable them to host philanthropic events. Their interest in the area has led to work with the Historic Water Tower Neighborhood, including hosting house and garden parties held by the organization. Andrew is vice president of membership for the group.”

Enjoy the story and photos!

b99464425z.1_20150317165135_000_ggfaa54e.1-0

HWTN Eschweiler home featured in Journal Sentinel

A lovely 1894 Alexander C. Eschweiler-designed home in the Historic Water Tower Neighborhood was recently an “At Home With…” feature in the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

“Among the home’s distinctive features are the flared eaves punctuated by 198 fishtail rafters. They resemble the upcurved eaves of Japanese pagodas. Eschweiler was known for his striking Japonist pagoda design for filling stations for Wadham’s Oil and Grease Company. One of the few remaining ‘Wadham’s pagodas’ is located in Cedarburg’s Washington Avenue Historic District.”

The feature and photo gallery includes interviews with the owners, Cate and Colin Scanes. The Scanes are HWTN members, and Colin is currently our treasurer.

b99455505z.1_20150303162854_000_gtoa3tcl.1-0

Little-known architects of HWTN featured in M Magazine

What do the architects of the Story Hill neighborhood, Downtown’s Rock Bottom Brewery building and the Beverly Hills Hotel have in common? They all designed magnificent homes in the Historic Water Tower Neighborhood.

Milwaukee's forgotten architects M Magazine March 2014 FINALHWTN’s VP of Communications and Former President Jeff Bentoff recently wrote about the architects of the three buildings — respectively Perce Schley, Max Fernekes and Elmer Grey — for  M Magazine.

Read the article and check out photos of their historic homes. Their work helps explain why the HWTN is one of the best places in Milwaukee to visit and live.

Quaint Marietta Avenue home has literary past and present, was designed by prominent Milwaukee architect

A charming clapboard colonial-style home on Marietta Avenue stands out among its neighbors. The attractive white house at 3228 N. Marietta Ave. isn’t distinguished by large size but rather a relatively bigger setback from the street. It looks more like a country home than its neighbors. And it greets visitors with a cute white fence based on those of Nantucket, a favorite vacation spot of the owners.

JanDoug2JanDoug1

The Georgian Revival house, built in 1904, was designed by Herman W. Buemming, who practiced architecture in Milwaukee from 1896 to 1943.

JanDougtodayAt least two of the home’s owners have literary pedigree: One of its current owners is a longtime Milwaukee Journal  Sentinel writer, and the prior owner, Nancy Ekholm Burkert, was an award-winning illustrator of children’s books. Burkert’s drawings in children’s books included a full-page illustration of the beloved Downer Avenue popcorn wagon.

A Milwaukee Journal article from the 1930s praised the Marietta home. The story quoted a Milwaukee architect who said of the home: “This is a house of real architecture.” The architect praised the proportion and detail of the home’s windows, the design of its porch and the attractive facades both in front and back.

In addition to this Marietta gem, Buemming and his firms designed many grand homes on the East Side and around the city and commercial buildings, such as the warehouse that today houses the Iron Horse Hotel.

Herman 1012Perhaps Buemming’s most notable design was for his own 1901 home at 1012 E. Pleasant St. The home, on the National Register of Historic Places, is “architecturally significant as a relatively pure example of a frame Classical Revival structure in pristine condition,” according to a city inventory of historic buildings.

– Jeff Bentoff

John Updike, an HWTN artist and the Downer Avenue popcorn wagon walked into a bar…

Actually, Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist John Updike, the historic Downer Avenue popcorn wagon and a Water Tower neighborhood artist didn’t walk into a bar.

But the three were connected in a different way — they all played roles in a well known 1965 children’s book, “A Child’s Calendar.”

The text of the book was written by Updike, who wrote “Rabbit, Run,” “The Witches of Eastwick” and many other acclaimed works. The original illustrator of the book was Nancy Ekholm Burkert, who lived for many years in a charming early 1900’s Georgian Revival clapboard home at 3228 N. Marietta Ave., here in the Historic Water Tower Neighborhood. And Burkert’s lovely drawing of the historic Downer Avenue popcorn wagon graced a page of “A Child’s Calendar.”

Wagon 6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Burkert was also the original illustrator of “James and the Giant Peach” and won a Caldecott Honor in 1973 for “Snow-White and the Seven Dwarfs.”

In “A Child’s Calendar,” her drawing of the Downer popcorn wagon illustrates Updike’s poem about the month of May. Updike began the poem: “Now children may, go out of doors, without their coats, to candy stores.”

Popcorn book

Nancy Ekholm Burker headshot

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The historic popcorn wagon was a fixture on the corner of Downer Avenue E. Bellview Place from 1916 to 2007, when it was removed by a developer to make way for a new parking structure. According to a city history written before its removal:

“Milwaukee’s oldest popcorn wagon has reputedly stood at this site since 1916 and it might be one of the oldest, working popcorn wagons in America. Made of wood and metal, it is reminiscent of a small, nineteenth century peddler’s wagon. The interior still retains some of its original, steam-powered popcorn-making equipment although the apparatus is now powered by electricity. Research has not yet revealed just how old the wagon really is, but according to local folklore and the recollections of some East Side residents who have since passed away, the wagon has been standing there and in continuous use since about 1916. Originally the wagon was portable and could roll about, but many years ago it became a permanent part of the district when it was embedded into a poured concrete foundation….Several popcorn wagons of similar design dotted the city’s major thoroughfares before and after World War II but today all of the other historic wagons have vanished.”

popcornwagonWagon corner

 

 

 

 

 

 

In 2008, the Milwaukee Historic Preservation Commission issued a Certificate of Appropriateness for the new parking structure to be built on the site. Under the terms of the certificate, the developer was allowed to remove the historic wagon but was supposed to preserve it and return it to the Downer area. Despite the requirement, the wagon’s current whereabouts and condition are uncertain.

The last article we’ve seen on the wagon’s fate suggested at the time that it might be for sale.

When we wrote about the wagon on our Facebook page in a February 2013 photo quiz, several contributed their memories and impressions:

  • “As Joni Mitchell once sang – They have paved paradise and put up a parking lot.”
  • “I think of Mrs. M’s –– and the popcorn with coconut oil, the candy wristwatches, among other delights –– every time I wait on that corner for the light to change.”
  • “A great loss.”
  • “Sigh.”
  • “At least in the mid to late 90s when I ran that popcorn wagon with a friend, there were no remains of steam powered popcorn making equipment.”
  • “Where is it now?”
  • “Little candies on white paper strips across from the Downer theater!!”